Return to Home Pagefrançais
About the Project News Current Research Conferences Databases Related Sites
Navigation Navigation Navigation Navigation Contact Us Acknowledgements

 

History of the Project Top of Page

It was in Ottawa in the summer of 1993 during the Institute on Canadian Bibliography, sponsored by the Bibliographical Society of Canada/Société bibliographique du Canada (BSC/SbC) and the National Library of Canada, that the general editors, Patricia Fleming and Yvan Lamonde, first discussed a history of the book in Canada. In 1995 they chaired an exploratory session at the BSC/SBC meeting in Montreal and, the following year in Halifax, presented a preliminary report from the working committee which included Leslie Howsam (University of Windsor), Germaine Warkentin (University of Toronto), and Bruce Whiteman, (then of McGill and now at the University of California). The well-attended and enthusiastic founding conference for the History of the Book in Canada held at the National Library of Canada in 1997 set the direction for the HBiC/HLIC project. With Patricia Fleming (University of Toronto) as Project Director, and Co-General Editor along with Yvan Lamonde (McGill University), an editorial team was assembled and the group applied for funding as a Major Collaborative Research Initiative under the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada. The purpose of the Major Collaborative Research Initiatives (MCRI), as outlined on the SSHRCC Web site, is “to strengthen Canadian research capacity in the humanities and social sciences by promoting high quality, innovative, collaborative research, and unique student training opportunities in a collaborative research environment. The program is intended for leading scholars with a solid track record and past experience in collaborative research, student training and grant management. The program seeks to support research of such significance that it brings international recognition to the participating Canadian scholars.”

In December 1999, the History of the Book in Canada/Histoire du livre et de l’imprimé au Canada project received word that its application was successful and early in the year 2000 a grant of 2.3 million dollars over five years was announced.

Objectives Top of Page

The primary objective of the project was to produce a three-volume interdisciplinary history of the book in Canada from the beginnings to 1980. Texts were written by collaborators in English or French then translated for publication in two editions, French and English. A parallel objective was the development of electronic resources to support work on the print volumes and to create new tools for analysis and comparative research. Within the scholarly community HBiC/HLIC established a research model for Canadian book history which is broadly based in cultural, literary, social, and economic studies; and contributed to the consolidation of a discipline and to the training of young scholars. In libraries and archives across the country, project editors, post-doctoral fellows, and graduate research assistants, as well as all the authors who collaborated as writers of the three volumes, promoted the use of Canada’s recorded heritage. Another important objective of the HBiC/HLIC team was to represent Canadian book history to the international book history community.

Our SitesTop of Page

The project operated the following seven sites across Canada:

Vancouver: Simon Fraser University:

Carole Gerson, Volume III Co-Editor: gerson@sfu.ca
Janet Friskney, Post-doctoral Fellow and Vol. III Associate Editor

Regina: University of Regina:

Fiona Black, Volume II Co-Editor: fiona.black@dal.ca

Toronto: University of Toronto:

Patricia Fleming, Project Director, Co-General Editor, Volume I Co-Editor, Volume II Co-Editor: patricia.fleming@utoronto.ca

Montreal: Université McGill:

Yvan Lamonde, Co-General Editor, Volume I Co-Editor, Volume II Co-Editor: Yvan.Lamonde@mcgill.ca
Sophie Montreuil, Post-doctoral Fellow

Sherbrooke: Université de Sherbrooke:

Jacques Michon, Volume III Co-Editor: jmichon@courrier.usherb.ca
Josée Vincent, Research Associate Josee.Vincent@USherbrooke.ca
Éric Leroux, Post-doctoral Fellow
Dominique Marquis, Post-doctoral Fellow
Pascale Ryan, Post-doctoral Fellow

Québec:

Gilles Gallichan, Volume I Co-Editor: ggallichan@assnat.qc.ca

Halifax: Dalhousie University:

Bertrum MacDonald, Editor of Electronic Resources: Bertrum.MacDonald@dal.ca
Fiona Black, Volume II Co-Editor: Fiona.Black@dal.ca

Toronto: Project Head Office: University of Toronto, Faculty of Information. Office closed 2007. Contact:

Judy Donnelly, Project Manager: judithdonnelly@hotmail.com

Retourenglish
Á propos du projet Nouvelles Recherches Colloques Banques des donnée Sites reliés
Contexte Tables des matiére Équipe éditoriale Éditorial Remerciements

 

historyofproject_fr.gif - 1611 BytesTop of Page

C’est à l’été 1993, à Ottawa, pendant un séminaire de l’Institute on Canadian Bibliography, un événement commandité par la Société bibliographique du Canada/Bibliographical Society of Canada (SBC/BSC) et par la Bibliothèque nationale du Canada, que les directeurs généraux, Patricia Fleming et Yvan Lamonde, discutèrent pour la première fois d’un éventuel projet sur l’histoire du livre au Canada. En 1995, ils présidèrent une séance exploratoire lors d’une réunion de la SBC/BSC et, l’année suivante, à Halifax, ils présentèrent un rapport préliminaire au nom d’un comité de travail incluant Leslie Howsam (University of Windsor), Germaine Warkentin (University of Toronto) et Bruce Whiteman (anciennement à l’Université McGill et maintenant à la University of California). Le colloque inaugural de l’Histoire du livre et de l’imprimé au Canada, qui eut lieu à la Bibliothèque nationale du Canada en 1997, suscita l’enthousiame des nombreux participants et contribua à paver le chemin au projet. Sous l’égide de Patricia Fleming (University of Toronto), directrice du projet et co-directrice générale, et d’Yvan Lamonde (Université McGill), co-directeur général, l’équipe éditoriale fut constituée, et une demande de subvention fut acheminée au programme des Grands travaux de recherche concertée (GTRC) du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada. Tel que décrit sur le site Internet du CRSHC, l’objectif du programme des Grands travaux de recherche concertée « est de consolider la capacité de recherche canadienne en sciences humaines, en encourageant la recherche innovatrice de qualité effectuée par des équipes de chercheurs ainsi que la formation d’étudiants dans un contexte de collaboration unique. Ce programme est destiné aux chercheurs chevronnés qui possèdent un excellent dossier de réalisations en recherche et qui ont déjà effectué des recherches concertées, formé des étudiants et géré des subventions. L’importance des recherches subventionnées dans le cadre du programme devrait apporter aux chercheurs canadiens qui y prennent part une reconnaissance à l’échelle internationale. »

En décembre 1999, le projet History of the Book in Canada/Histoire du livre et de l’imprimé au Canada apprit que sa demande était acceptée, et, au début de l’année 2000, l’attribution d’une subvention de 2,3 millions de dollars sur cinq ans fut rendue publique.

objectives_fr.gif - 1655 BytesTop of Page

Le premier objectif du projet est de produire une histoire interdisciplinaire du livre au Canada en trois volumes, des débuts à 1980. Les textes seront rédigés par des collaborateurs, en français ou en anglais, puis traduits aux fins d’une parution simultanée de chacun des volumes en deux éditions, l’une française et l’autre anglaise. Un objectif parallèle au précédent consiste à mettre en place des ressources électroniques qui seconderont la recherche pour les volumes imprimés et qui seront autant de nouveaux outils servant à l’analyse et à la recherche comparée. Le projet HBiC/HLIC souhaite instaurer au sein de la communauté scientifique un modèle de recherche pour l’histoire du livre au Canada puisant à même les études culturelles, littéraires, sociales et économiques. De plus, il contribuera à consolider la discipline en elle-même ainsi que la formation des jeunes chercheurs; dans les bibliothèques et les archives à travers le Canada, les directeurs du projet, les chercheurs postdoctoraux et les assistants de recherche des cycles supérieurs, de même que tous les auteurs qui participeront à la rédaction des volumes, travaillent à mettre en valeur le patrimoine archivistique et imprimé canadien. L’équipe du projet HBiC/HLIC poursuit enfin un autre objectif important, celui de représenter la recherche canadienne en histoire du livre auprès de la communauté internationale d’histoire du livre.

oursites_fr.gif - 1461 BytesTop of Page

Sept sites de recherche, situés dans plusieurs régions du Canada, sont liés au projet :

Vancouver : Simon Fraser University :

Carole Gerson, co-directrice du volume III : gerson@sfu.ca
Janet Friskney, postdoctorante : jbf@sfu.ca

Regina : University of Regina :

Fiona Black, co-directrice du volume II : fiona.black@dal.ca

Toronto : University of Toronto :

Patricia Fleming, directrice du projet, co-directrice générale, co-directrice du volume I, co-directrice du volume II : fleming@utoronto.ca

Montréal : Université McGill :

Yvan Lamonde, co-directeur général, co-directeur du volume II : Yvan.Lamonde@mcgill.ca
Sophie Montreuil, postdoctorante : Sophie.Montreuil@mail.mcgill.ca

Sherbrooke : Université de Sherbrooke :

Jacques Michon, co-directeur du volume III : jmichon@courrier.usherb.ca
Pascale Ryan, postdoctorant : pascale.ryan@internet.uqam.ca
Josée Vincent, chercheure associée : Josee.Vincent@USherbrooke.ca

Québec :

Gilles Gallichan, co-directeur du volume I : ggallichan@assnat.qc.ca

Halifax : Dalhousie University :

Bertrum MacDonald, directeur des ressources électroniques : Bertrum.MacDonald@dal.ca
Fiona Black, co-directrice du volume II : Fiona.Black@dal.ca

Bureau du projet : University of Toronto, Faculty of Information Studies :

Judy Donnelly, responsable administrative : donnelly@fis.utoronto.ca
140, St. George St., Toronto ON M5S 3G6
Tél. : 416-978-8688
Téléc : 416-978-7097